Arm in Arm: Let’s Cut that Cake!

Our cakes were some of my favorite “things” in our entire wedding.

The wedding cake was a three-tier multi-flavored cake with simple buttercream frosting and faux flowers sitting on each of the tiers.  It was topped by my DIY Lollipop Workshop-inspired cake topper, which is easily one of my proudest DIY wedding accomplishments.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 011

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 012

This fun little topper now sits on our TV stand in our living room. It’s such a fun reminder of one of the happiest days of our lives!

When it came to our cake, the littlest details were not forgotten.  I scored a groom Lego mini-figure for a few bucks off eBay, and had our baker slip it underneath the bottom tier of the cake.  Mr. A is a Lego fanatic, and I figured he’d get a kick out of this little surprise!

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 013

 

We also DIYed the groom’s cake, again paying homage to Mr. A’s obsession with Lego.  The inside was Funfetti, Mr. A’s favorite, and despite staying up until 3 a.m. the night before the wedding to get it finished, I think it turned out pretty darn awesome for an amateur like myself!

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 016

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 220

 

The DJ started playing “Sugar, Sugar” by the Archies, and we did our marital duties as we sliced that sucker open.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 221

 

We had the “smear vs. no smear” discussion many times during wedding planning, and although Mr. A and I agreed to not smash each other’s faces with cake on our wedding day, I still felt it necessary to give him a “don’t even think about it” smirk.  Luckily, he was sweet to me and stuck to our pact!

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 224

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 225

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 223

I like to call the next series of photos, “Mr. A’s First Time Popping a Champagne Cork.”  It went like this:

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 226

 

I’m protecting my eyes…and my precious Kate Spade champagne saucer.

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 227

 

…and…

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 228

Success!!

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 229

 

Up next, I’ll share our reception detail photos before we get to boogie the night away!

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

 

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

 

 

Leave a Reply

