Arm in Arm: Wanna Grow Old With You

After toasts, the DJ invited Mr. A and me onto the dance floor to take our first steps together as husband and wife.  After little deliberation, we chose to dance to Adam Sandler’s “Wanna Grow Old With You,” made famous in his movie, The Wedding Singer.

Adam Sandler movies are a shared passion between us, and we loved the fact that the song is long enough to do the junior high sway to, but short enough to not get awkward.  The music started, Mr. A put his arms around me, and for a few moments, we were the only two people in the room.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 212

I wanna make you smile 
Whenever you’re sad 
Carry you around when your arthritis is bad 
All I wanna do, is grow old with you 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 213
I’ll get you medicine when your tummy aches 
Build you a fire if the furnace breaks 
So, it could be so nice growing old with you,…. 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 216
I’ll miss you 
Kiss you 
Give you my coat when you are cold 
Need you 
Feed you 
Even let you hold the remote control. 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 214
So let me do the dishes in our kitchen sink 
Put you to bed when you’ve had too much to drink 
Oh I could be the man that grows old with you 
I wanna grow old with you.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 215

 

At the end of our dance, we were suddenly both very aware again of the 150 people staring at us, and we both sort of instinctively went in and hugged it out instead of going in for a kiss.  We’re awkward like that, people.

Not having any rest, I went straight into the father/daughter dance with my dad.  You may or may not have guessed what song my dad and I danced to, but in case you didn’t, here’s the spoiler:  Somewhere Over the Rainbow!

The song was a 100% confident choice from the very beginning, although we chose to two-step to the ukulele version by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 217

 

My dad and I are often not all that sentimental toward each other, but good ol’ Papa Dillo was seriously the biggest softie I have ever seen on my wedding day.  During our dance, he leaned in, told me he loved me, and said, “I just want you to know, I’ve been looking forward to this for a really long time.”  That got me all teary-eyed and wistful, and we really soaked up our moment dancing together to a song that meant so much to my childhood and my relationship with him.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 218

 

We sang the lyrics together for a good portion of the song, which is why my dad looks like he’s about to sneeze the the picture below.  After shouts from the crowd, I lifted up the skirt of my gown to give everyone a glimpse of my highly appropriate shoes, at which point everyone cheered.  I felt like a movie star, and at the same time, like a five year-old little girl standing on her daddy’s feet to dance to her favorite song.

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 219

 

After we finished (the DJ faded it out after about two minutes because DANG, that song is long) Mr. A and I headed up to the front of the room to CUT THE CAKE!

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

 

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

 

Leave a Reply

