Arm in Arm: Dad Makes An Appearance And Gives Me a Surprise!

At around 4:45, Papa Dillo at last made it into the parlor, and he waltzed in with a “ta da!”  When his eyes fell on me sitting in the wing-back chair in the corner, though, I could immediately see tears welling in his eyes.  You should know that Papa Dillo is definitely not a crier, and seeing him get so emotional made ME tear up a little.  I fought the waterworks back, however, as he crossed the room, knelt down next to me, and gave me a big ol’ hug.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 078

He then began to recite the list of old traditions that a bride was supposed to have with her on her wedding day for good luck:  “You know, the old saying goes ‘something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue’, and…” he stopped, reached into the inside pocket of his tuxedo jacket, and pulled out a small silver coin.  “A ‘silver sixpence in her shoe.'”  He handed the small coin to me, and I inspected it closer.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 080

Papa Dillo had managed to stumble across someone who was selling a silver sixpence from 1913, and had snatched it up a couple of months prior to the wedding to surprise me with it.  Having a silver sixpence that was exactly 100 years old to slip into my ruby slipper was just about the coolest thing ever.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 076

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 077

Meanwhile, our pastor ran into the parlor, grabbed our marriage license, and took it out into the hallway to sign it so we’d be all official.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 056

And then James captured a couple of shots of me with the parentals.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 082

My dad has owned the same tuxedo for 25 years and has worn it to every formal function there is. He sure does clean up well!

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 083

I started to get a little paranoid about running behind schedule, so every couple of minutes I kept asking “what time is it?”  When it was 5 minutes until the hour, my girls grabbed their bouquets and headed for the door with my parents.  Before she left, MOH Henna grabbed me for one last hug.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 073

Then we filed out into the hallway, made our way down the long corridor of empty Sunday school rooms and waited just outside the foyer of the sanctuary.  I could hear the telltale sound of our pianist wrapping up her mood music and the sound of the groomsmen emerging just behind the nearby wall to get into place.  The bridesmaids made their way to the foyer, but I stayed behind to keep hidden until my entrance.  My dad left to go check on the groomsmen and Mr. A and to make sure everything was going smoothly.

For the first time the entire day, I was completely by myself.  I could only concentrate on how the sixpence sitting in my shoe felt like a boulder and how badly my feet were KILLING me. And all I really wanted was to see Mr. A since I had only seen him for a short time during setting up the reception space earlier that morning.  In just a few short moments, however, I would get my wish!

What were the last few moments before getting married like for you?

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

Leave a Reply

