Arm in Arm: I Put Some Dang Clothes on and Take Pics With My Gals

I wanted to wait as long as possible before I got dressed in the hopes that my mom would be able to come help me.  I’d always imagined getting dressed with my mom there to assist with putting on the final finishing touches, but like me, she was running behind (in case you were wondering where my lack of punctuality comes from.)  It was around 4:15 when she finally came rushing through the parlor doors, and I breathed a sigh of relief as she helped get me into my gown.

We may or may not have staged this photo.  I'm not telling!

We may or may not have staged this photo. I’m not telling!

I wore a petticoat underneath my dress, and with it on, I totally couldn’t see my feet.  So, my lovely ladies helped me get into my shoes.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 058

James then took a few solo shots of me before adding the girls in for a few shots together.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 059

Love the way my shoes are peeking out from underneath my gown in this one!

Love the way my shoes are peeking out from underneath my gown in this one!

My lovely ladies and me.  The purple of their gowns give an awesome pop in this photo!

My lovely ladies and me. The purple of their dresses give an awesome pop in this photo!

Our flower girls got in on the action…

The flower girl from Mr. A's side did amazing the entire day!  She posed for pictures, was so well-mannered, and didn't complain at all.  Amazing for being a two-year old!

The flower girl from Mr. A’s side did amazing the entire day! She posed for pictures, was so well-mannered, and didn’t complain at all. Amazing for being a two-year old!

The flower girl from my side, however, was a little less into it and HATED the camera.  Here's her best shot, haha!

The flower girl from my side, however, was a little less into it and HATED the camera. Here’s her best shot, haha!

…as did my ladies!  They each got a glamour shot of their own.

One of my oldest and best friends, BM Mascara

One of my oldest and best friends, BM Mascara

My awesome cousin, BM Dancer

My awesome cousin, BM Dancer

Li'l Dillo looking so grown up!  She was so excited to not have to wear a "junior bridesmaid" dress.

Li’l Dillo looking so grown up! She was so excited to not have to wear a “junior bridesmaid” dress.

And my cousin, BFF and MOH Henna.  She's seriously so amazing.  She lives in Arizona and I hardly ever get to see her!

And my cousin, BFF and MOH Henna. She’s seriously so amazing. She lives in Arizona and I hardly ever get to see her!

Meanwhile, I pinned my mom’s corsage on for her…

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 068

…and she returned the favor by helping me put on my veil.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 071

And then came one of my favorite photos of the day.  This is a picture of me and my mom, and if you look closely, you can see a photo sitting in my bouquet.  That’s a picture of my mom on her wedding day with HER mom, standing in the exact same spot in the exact same room as we are in this photo!  Totally sentimental, and totally amazing.  This was one of the many reasons why I was so excited to get married in the same church that my parents did.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 072

My mom finished helping me with the details by securing the bracelet containing my handkerchief made out of my great-grandma’s wedding gown around my wrist.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 075

And then, Mr. A’s gift and love letter to me arrived!  Wanna know what he got me?

A custom pillow case with all the significant dates of our relationship on it!  Totally cute, and totally Mr. A.  It's currently sitting on our bed!

A custom pillow case with all the significant dates of our relationship on it! Totally cute, and totally Mr. A. It’s currently sitting on our bed!

The only person missing now was Papa Dillo!  My bridesmaids left the parlor to go in search of him, but came back without any luck.  By now it was almost 4:45, so I was starting to get a little nervous that we’d be running behind schedule, and everyone kept coming in and going, “the wedding starts at 5:30, right?”  Um, NO PEOPLE, the wedding starts in 15 MINUTES!  And then my mom said when people and guests had asked her, she told them all the wedding started at 5:30 and I was really starting to get anxious.  Were people not reading their invitations?  Why was I the only one who seemed to know what time the ceremony was supposed to start?  WHAT THE HECK WAS GOING ON???  I kept my cool, though, and figured what was done was done.  This ceremony was happening in 15 minutes, and the people who showed up on time would be there to witness it.  Everyone else could just come and eat cake.  Whatever.

Was there some serious miscommunication on your wedding day? Did you freak out or keep your cool?

Up next, Papa Dillo arrives, we take more pictures, and then it’s GO TIME!

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

 

Leave a Reply

