Arm in Arm: I Chill for a Sec and our Photog Takes Pics of Our “Stuff”

While James, our photographer, was out taking photos with the guys, I was busy inside the parlor of the church getting ready for the ceremony.

Like I said before, we didn’t really get many photos of me and my girls “getting ready,” which was totally my fault for being so behind schedule.  James did run in to the parlor after I had done my hair and makeup to snap a few photos of me before I put on my dress, though.

Here I am writing my love letter to Mr. A.  This is kind of funny, because I had been bugging/reminding him to write his all week, and I ended up waiting until the last possible minute to write mine!  Typical Mrs. A behavior, right there.

Here I am writing my love letter to Mr. A. This is kind of funny, because I had been bugging/reminding him to write his all week, and I ended up waiting until the last possible minute to write mine! Typical Mrs. A behavior, right there.

I wore the Plum Pretty Sugar robe Mr. A got me for Valentines’ Day while I was getting ready, and I’m so glad James was able to capture a few pictures of me in it!  And although I had only about an hour and a half to get my hair and makeup done, I didn’t really feel rushed at all.  The only snaffu was realizing I had not brought the eyelash glue for my falsies, so BM Dancer ran to the nearest CVS to pick some up for me.  Aside from that, the whole getting ready process was golden, and I was so glad I decided to DIY my hair and makeup.  Being able to concentrate on something so familiar and routine for me like putting on my makeup really took away a huge chunk of the stress I had been feeling.  And the DIY makeup trials I had done before were completely irrelevant by the time our day rolled around.  I simply did a heavier version of my everyday makeup with liquid liner and false eyelashes.  Badabing, badaboom.  Done, and done.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 055I decided to go pretty simple with my hair, too.  I let my natural curls do their thing and just twisted the sides back with a few decorative hair pins.  Nothing crazy, nothing out of the ordinary.  When it came down to it, I wanted to look like myself on my wedding day.

The best part of all was getting to relax for a bit after doing my hair and makeup while James took some pictures of the “stuff.”  You know, something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue?

The something new?  My dress.  I ended up purchasing a Bonny sample gown from a dress shop in El Campo.  Totally unexpected, but I absolutely loved my dress.  It was simple, but made my figure look damn good (which is really the whole point, isn’t it?)  Plus, we got it for a steal since it was a discontinued dress, and I’m never one to pass up a deal.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 033

 

The something old I’ve already talked about before, but I slipped my great-great grandmother Kate’s wedding bracelets around the base of my bouquet and carried them with me down the aisle.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 029

 

I had a couple of “something borrowed” items.  My original plan was to wear my mom’s wedding veil, but we ran out of time to rework it to look less ’80s.  Instead, I wore a necklace of my grandma’s (which I don’t have a picture of.)  But I also wore my grandma’s and great-grandma’s engagement rings on my right hand.  You can see them in this photo along with all the other engagement rings from women in my family:

From left to right, that's my  great-grandma Ethel's engagement ring, my great-grandma Betty's engagement ring, my engagement ring, my Gaga's engagement ring, and my mom's engagement ring.  I wore great-grandma Ethel's and my Gaga's down the aisle.

From left to right, that’s my great-grandma Ethel’s engagement ring, my great-grandma Betty’s engagement ring, my engagement ring, my Gaga’s engagement ring, and my mom’s engagement ring. I wore great-grandma Ethel’s and my Gaga’s down the aisle.  The rings are sitting on a handkerchief made from a piece of my great-grandma’s wedding gown.

An artsy fartsy shot of all the engagement rings.  Love this one!

An artsy fartsy shot of all the engagement rings. Love this one!

And lastly, my something blue was the earrings Mama Dillo gave me for my birthday.  They’re the prettiest Aquamarine dangles and I loved wearing them!

Here they are with my engagement ring and Mr. A's wedding band.  Love!

Here they are with my engagement ring and Mr. A’s wedding band. Love!

James also captured a few creative shots of our rings with my bouquet.  And here, my bees made their debut!  These little guys have been passed down through Mrs. Jaguar, Mrs. Biscuit, Mrs. Bacon, Mrs. Cannon, Mrs. Funnel Cake, Mrs. Sunhat, Mrs. Petit Four, Mrs. Castle, Mrs. Elk, Mrs. Wizard, Mrs. Unicorn, Mrs. Cauldron, and Mrs. Potion.  After the wedding, I mailed them off to none other than our very own Miss Mongoose!  I loved the way our florist incorporated them into the little button mums in my bouquet.  They were such a stark reminder of my journey here on Weddingbee and I loved how I felt connected to this community on my wedding day.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 025

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 026

 

Last, but CERTAINLY not least, the pride and joy of my wedding day ensemble:  my DIY strassed ruby slippers.  After agonizing over them for MONTHS, I finally got them finished a few days before the wedding.  James ran out and bought some white poster board the night before our big day so he could give them their own mini photo-shoot.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 023

 

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 024

 

After he was all done, James brought me back all my stuff so I could finally get dressed–it was only a few minutes until go time, and I was starting to wonder where my parents were…

Any other brides DIY/planning to DIY their hair and/or makeup? Was there a time during the course of the day that you were able to slow down, relax, and take a breather?

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

 

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

 

 

Leave a Reply

