Arm in Arm: The Guys Get Ready

When I finally made it to First Presbyterian, the first thing I noticed was how absolutely gorgeous it was outside.  Blue skies with white, cotton ball clouds framed the exterior of my childhood church, and the temperature was at an absolutely perfect 72 degrees.  It was crazy windy, though, and as I climbed out of the car, my dress bag got caught in the updraft and almost flew away from me!  I held on for dear life, however, and marched inside to camp out in the church’s parlor, where a few of my girls had already assembled.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 021

churchsigns

Meanwhile, Mr. A and his groomsmen had picked a room upstairs to assemble and put on their duds.  A friend of my mom’s had offered to put together the groomsmen’s baby’s breath boutonnieres, and she was there to pin them on along with the one our florist made for Mr. A.

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 037

Mr. A donning his tie we got to match the bridesmaid dresses from Dessy.  Lookin' classy, Mr. A!

Mr. A donning his tie we got to match the bridesmaid dresses from Dessy. Lookin’ classy, Mr. A!

Mr. A's best man getting pinned.  You might notice the boutonnieres are wrapped with the infamous wedding ribbon I talked about in earlier posts.  Had to use that stuff wherever I could!

Mr. A’s best man getting pinned. You might notice the boutonnieres are wrapped with the infamous wedding ribbon I talked about in earlier posts. Had to use that stuff wherever I could!

Mr. A getting his boutonniere pinned on.  Our florist was able to utilize tulips, my absolute favorite flower, in both his boutonniere and my bouquet.  Love!

Mr. A getting his boutonniere pinned on. Our florist was able to utilize tulips, my absolute favorite flower, in both his boutonniere and my bouquet. Love!

After they were all dressed, MOH Henna delivered my wedding gift to Mr. A.  We agreed to write a love letter to each other and exchange small (read:  INEXPENSIVE) gifts.

justinwedding

So, what did Mr. A get….?

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 041

Custom cufflinks, of course!

Mr. A was a Geography major in college and has kind of an obsession with maps, so I hunted for a seller on Etsy who was able to crank out a custom pair of map cufflinks for Mr. A as his wedding gift.  One represents the town where we met and fell in love…

Our college town, home to SFASU.  Axe 'em Jacks!

Our college town, home to SFASU. Axe ’em Jacks!

And the other is the town where we would begin our new lives together as husband and wife:

Hooray!

Hooray!

I have been told from both our photographer and Mr. A’s groomsmen that the cufflinks were a major hit.  In fact, since the wedding, Mr. A has placed them on display on a shelf in our living room and hasn’t moved them since.  I’m pretty sure that means I did good!

Once they were all dressed, the guys headed out to the alley behind the church for a few pre-ceremony shots.  These pictures are so fun!

Typical guys...all on their phones!

Typical guys…all on their phones!

Hodges-Helmick Wedding (For FB)_130318 - 047

The typical BAMF walking shot.  LOVE!

The typical BAMF walking shot. LOVE!

Super nice portrait shot of Mr. A.  Is he not the cutest thing you've ever seen?!

Super nice portrait shot of Mr. A. Is he not the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?!

Now, you might recall my previous post about ordering mismatched ties for our groomsmen.  We ordered four slightly different ties from The Tie Bar, and they turned out awesome!  The ties were amazing in quality, shipped quickly and were reasonably priced.  And I think they look just different enough to give our guys a bit of individuality.

groomsmen

Up next, I get ready for my wedding day debut and get to have a photo-op with my lovely ladies!

armadillo wedding recaps graphic

armadillo wedding recaps graphic 2

 

Leave a Reply

