Lone Star Lovin’: Back to Reality

The night before our last morning in Fredericksburg, Mr. A and I went to bed wondering if we’d be provided breakfast the morning before we checked out of our room.  At 9 a.m., though, our question was answered:

That's a Tex-Mex inspired breakfast casserole, fruit salad, sausage patties, and cranberry scones.  Delish!

That’s a Tex-Mex inspired breakfast casserole, fruit salad, sausage patties, and cranberry scones. Delish!

We lounged for as long as we possibly could in our bed before getting dressed, packing our bags, and climbing into our car to head back home.  I was really wishing we could stay another night, but we both had work the next day and it just wasn’t an option.

Totally didn't want to leave.  I was rocking the new shades I bought on our trip, though!  Love those things.

Totally didn’t want to leave. I was rocking the new shades I bought on our trip, though! Love those things.

The entire drive we kept hoping we’d have the opportunity to turn around and stay another night.  The only solace was the beautiful patches of bluebonnets that lined the highway the entire drive home…

Love me some Texas springtime!

Love me some Texas springtime!

…and also being able to glance down at my engagement ring newly nestled against the wedding band we had made to fit:

I still can't get enough of how that looks.  Married life, y'all!!!

I still can’t get enough of how that looks. Married life, y’all!!!

We stopped for lunch at this steakhouse after our search for a Wing Stop was unfruitful (I kind of have an obsession with Wing Stop and I hadn’t been to one since I was in college, which has been almost a year!)  We had some pretty yummy food, though, and I ate enough to put myself into a food coma for the rest of the drive home.

Robert's Steakhouse, somewhere between Fredericksburg and Houston.

Robert’s Steakhouse, somewhere between Fredericksburg and Houston.

Chicken fried chicken and a loaded baked potato.  Heavenly!

Chicken fried chicken and a loaded baked potato. Heavenly!

The rest of the drive home was spent reminiscing over our wedding day and days in the Hill Country, talking about everything we needed to get done when we got home, and being so excited to begin married life together!

I think the best part of our trip was simply being together without having any stresses or anything to worry about for three solid days.  To be completely honest, when it comes to spending time with Mr. A, I don’t give a care about what we do, so long as we do it together.  Enjoying good food and being lazy for three solid days was just exactly the type of mini vacation we needed, and I am SO GLAD we went ahead and decided to take a mini-moon.

For anyone without the budget or time to do a full-blown honeymoon straightaway from the wedding, I highly recommend taking a little trip like we did.  It gave us the perfect amount of time to enjoy being fresh newlyweds before going back to work and real life again.  And even if you don’t take a trip anywhere, take a few days off work, camp out in your home, and just enjoy being together for a few days!  Seriously, you won’t regret it.

Where did you go/are you planning on going after your wedding?  What are you most looking forward to after the wedding day?

Up next, the Armadillo wedding recaps will COMMENCE! (SO GET EXCITED!!!)

Leave a Reply

