I Wish I Had a DOC

Hive, the title pretty much says it all:  I really wish our wedding budget had room for a wedding planner, or at least a day-of-coordinator.  Because with 8 days until lift off, I’m feeling pretty overwhelmed.

Those ruby slippers I’m working on STILL aren’t finished.  I don’t have much left to go on the last one, but I’m starting to run out of the bigger sized crystals so this final section will definitely take a bit longer to finish:

Bah, SO CLOSE!

Bah, SO CLOSE!

Meanwhile, I’m having to think of all the little crap that comes with DIYing pretty much an entire wedding, like how much alcohol to buy and logistics of how to store 13 gallons of sangria until next Saturday, how to keep our kegs of Shiner Bock and Michelob Ultra on ice during the reception, how many cupcakes to bake to supplement our wedding cake, how to get 300 candles lit before the reception starts, pulling together a day-of timeline, orchestrating the elements of the ceremony and reception, and…I’ll just stop right there.  (Did I mention we won’t be able to get into our reception space to decorate until 8:30 on the morning of the wedding?  That thought alone kinda makes me want to hyperventilate.)

Other things on the wedding crazy train?  My dress still doesn’t have a bustle, I still haven’t done anything to our centerpieces, we only received about 5/8ths of our RSVP cards back (and I am NOT calling around to hunt them down at this point, sorry) and my grandpa had a health scare a few days ago and will no longer be able to make it to the wedding (however, he WILL be able to watch the ceremony via Skype, which I’m pretty excited about.)  There are so many little things that still need to be done, like adding the finishing touches to our cake topper, finishing up some banners I’ve been working on, finishing the wedding favors, cleaning up a couple of more batches of glass jars, creating a photo display for the reception, and confirming deliveries with some of our vendors (like our cake and flowers.)

Despite all the stuff that still needs to be done, however, the important things are set in stone and ready to roll.  Mr. A and I went through the required pre-marital counseling sessions with our pastor, we have our marriage license, and we’ve got our wedding bands.  We have a place to have the ceremony, I’ve got a gorgeous dress, and he’s got a smashing tux.  We have 220 wonderful people who are coming to witness this awesome celebration of love and unity between us, and we have a place and food to feed them all with after the ceremony is over.  We’ve got a DJ to spin some fantastic tunes, and an out of this world photographer to capture every little moment.  Basically, through hell or high water, this wedding is happening.  And I keep reminding myself that despite all the things that may or may not get done, at the end of the day I’ll have the best husband a girl like me could ever ask for.  Keeping things in perspective is about the only way I can keep myself grounded at this point.

Hive, I can’t believe our day is almost here!  I’m planning on popping in at least a couple of times next week to share some fun stuff with you guys, but we’re nearly at the end of this journey.  I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel yet, but I know it’s there.  Because even through all the tears of stress and frustration, I know this wedding is going to be wonderful just because of what it represents and who will be there.  And that’s more important than the flowers or music or decorations or any of those details I find myself continually stressing over.  The marriage is the best part; the wedding is just a bonus.

So, hive, anyone getting married in the next couple of weeks?  Can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, or are you feeling suffocated under the mounds of paper flowers and seating charts?

 

One thought on “I Wish I Had a DOC

  1. Oh man, reading your posts just get me pumped to shoot your wedding! I know every wedding is crazy special to the bride and groom and their families, but I seriously think is the most excited I’ve ever been leading up to a wedding I have the distinct privilege of photographing.

    Can’t. Freakin. Wait.

    Sincerely, James

    P.S. “out of this world photographer”? No pressure now, thanks. 😉

Leave a Reply

