I Really Love Your Peaches, Wanna Shake Your Tree

Pardon me for the Steve Miller “Joker” reference, but when it comes to classic rock, I just can’t help myself.

Anywho, remember a little while back when I mentioned my total love for guestbook thumbprint trees?  Well, I did a LOT of research while trying to figure out the best way to make my inspiration spring to life.  My original inclination was to have the tree printed on canvas, but then I started thinking about how well the ink would actually cling to the canvas and I started to get a little gun shy about it.  Also, having it printed on canvas was realistically a little more expensive than I was willing to spend on this project, no matter how cute it would be.  So, I went back to the drawing board.

And then I saw Miss Panda’s post about getting hers printed via Vistaprint, and considering how much success I’ve had with that company in the past, a light bulb went off in my head.  And so, after downloading a free vector tree file off the web and adding a few extra personal touches, I uploaded my final design to Vistaprint, selected the matte 18″ x 24″ poster stock, submitted my order, and waited on pins and needles for about a week.

The day it arrived, I ran to Wal-Mart and picked up one of those semi-flimsy, plastic poster frames and a can of silver spray paint.  I gave the frame a couple of coats of shiny, silvery goodness, slipped my thumbprint tree poster inside, and voila!

A few of the fun little details?  Our names and wedding date at the bottom, and a cute heart with our initials “carved” into the tree trunk:

 

Random fact: Whenever I see hearts and initials carved into trees I think of the live-action movie The Adventures of Pinocchio starring JTT, specifically the part where Geppetto and his sweetheart carve their initials into the trunk of the tree that he eventually uses to create Pinocchio. Anyone else remember that movie?

However, even a DIY project this simple isn’t without its hiccups.  Look what I did:

Damn iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit.

So, basically, the poster frames from Wal-Mart come with the clear plastic fronts pre-attached to the frames.  This doesn’t exactly work with the whole thumbprint tree thing because the plan is to lay the tree out while it’s in the frame so people don’t stamp where their prints won’t be seen. So, I naturally tried haphazardly ripping the plastic off the frame, and it ended up cracking.  (I’m kind of an impatient bull in a china cabinet when it comes to craft projects.)  SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE, Y’ALL.

Aside from the plastic cracking snafu, this project really is a piece of cake.  All that’s left is to make a cutely worded sign to sit out with the tree that tells guests how it works and to track down a few pads of ink to help them bring our tree to life!  Overall, I’m super pleased with how it all turned out.

Was there a DIY wedding-related project that was particularly simple for you to finish?  Anyone else make some hasty mistakes with an otherwise easy project?

 

Leave a Reply

