DIY–The Evolution of the Monogram

When it came to our monogram, the first thing that crossed my mind was the traditional bride’s first-couple’s last-groom’s first motif, but after playing with the mister’s and my initials, I just wasn’t feeling it, especially not in the Albemarle Swash font (which I’m gonna go ahead and say is, indeed, the “official” font of all our wedding day-related stationery.)  So, after playing around a bit on Photoshop, I came up with this (all upcoming images by Miss Armadillo):It wasn’t necessarily a bad first attempt, but something about it just didn’t look right to me.  I had one hell of a time trying to incorporate the ampersand in a way so it didn’t just look thrown in there haphazardly without any rhyme or reason.  I also kind of wanted to incorporate our two main wedding day colors–pear green and violet.  Figuring the first draft was a no-go, I went back to the drawing board and ended up with this:

I felt we were getting closer, but still, that damned ampersand was really starting to pee me off.  No matter where I put it or what I did with it, it just didn’t look like it belonged there.  And, really, what’s the point of the ampersand, anyway?  Anyone who comes to our wedding will KNOW that the “R” and “J” stand for myself and the mister, so couldn’t we just do away with that pesky ampersand all together?  Well, yes.

And that’s exactly what I did.

With the ampersand gone, I played around with the colors a bit, added a few bright purple flourishes, and ultimately ended up with this motif staring back at me on my computer screen:

By just having our initials intersecting, I think it eliminated any and all need for the ampersand, and having the initials being slightly different colors I think gives the whole thing a bit more visual interest.  And the purple flourishes just give it that little something extra and help incorporate more of our wedding day color palette.

So, where will our wedding motif show up, exactly?  I’m thinking on the invites, for sure, and perhaps on a few other stationery-related projects.  The jury’s still out on that one.

Did you attempt a DIY for your wedding day monogram/motif?  Did you go the more traditional three-initial route or decide to do something a bit different?

Leave a Reply

