“Something Blue”

When it came to deciding what I would have with me on my wedding day as my “something blue,” I was initially a little stumped.  Granted, many brides choose to have some kind of undergarment represent their “something blue,” like a garter:

Image via Etsy seller Hoalanebridal

But, I kind of already have an idea for my garter, so I knew I didn’t want to go the semi-traditional blue route.  That ended up leaving me, well, nowhere.

But then–oh, then!–super amazing, awesomely fantastic Mama Dillo had the most wonderful idea EVER as my something blue!  During my most recent birthday, I opened up these gorgeous beauties (all upcoming photos by Miss Armadillo.)

They’re a pair of aquamarine drop earrings set in sterling silver and surrounded by tiny white sapphires.  They’re somewhat dainty with a definite vintage feel to them, which is sort of what I’m trying to implement in my wedding day ensemble.  The aqua blue color of the stones is very faint and subtle, which I only think adds to the gorgeousness of them.  They’re especially sentimental since aquamarine is the birthstone for the month of March, which, of course, is the month the mister and I are getting married in!

The obligatory up-close shot.

I am so, so, SO SUPER DUPER EXCITED to wear these earrings on my wedding day, and I think they’ll look completely perfect with the ensemble I’ve dreamed up in my mind.  It’s kind of ironic that I’ve settled on practically every aspect of my wedding day attire EXCEPT for my dress, so I guess I’ll just have to end up picking a gown that goes with all my accessories!

Did you end up picking out other items of your wedding day ensemble before you settled on a wedding dress?  What are you using as your “something blue”?

Leave a Reply

