Where We’ll Say Our I Do’s

Guys, picking our ceremony space was a no-brainer.   Like, for real.

My family and I have been going to the same church since I was five or six years-old; it’s the same church where Mama Dillo and Papa Dillo are currently employed.  Basically, we lived at the church growing up because my parents were always there at church functions or serving on committees and devoting a lot of their time to the people there.  The congregation feels like family to me more than anything, and I’ve always enjoyed coming home from college on the weekends and going to church on Sunday mornings to see all the wonderful people there who love and support me and want nothing but the best for me and my family.

Oh, yeah–also, my parents got married in that exact same church 25 years ago and were married by my Grandpop, who’s a retired Presbyterian minister.

My parents saying their vows 25 years ago.

Totally diggin’ those 80’s get-ups. My parents were babies!

Obviously, choosing to get married in my childhood church seemed like a natural choice for me and Mr. A, and I’m so glad to be able to honor my parents’ successful relationship in this way.  I’m looking forward to getting a few of the same photo shots my parents did on their wedding day and to be able to display them side by side.  If you can’t tell already, I’m kind of a sentimental goober.

Luckily for me, Mr. A is totally on board with getting married in my childhood church–in fact, he’s met the current pastor a few times when he’s come down to visit with me on the weekends, and we’re really excited at the opportunity to use him as our officiant.

Is there any sentimental value in the place you’ve chosen to have your wedding ceremony?  Have you considered getting married in the same place as your parents?

2 thoughts on “Where We’ll Say Our I Do’s

  1. Well, my parents (married 44 years) were married by a justice of the peace during WWII on January 1, 1944…..and fortunately, I can say that Jimmy and I have been married for 21 years and were also married by a Justice of the Peace right here in Bay City.

Leave a Reply

