On How We Met

I like sharing the story of how Mr. A and I met, mostly because its just kinda funny.

The short version is we met and fell in love amidst the majestic pineywoods of East Texas; but,the longer version is much, much more interesting.  Trust me.

After graduating high school I packed up and moved away from the small town where I was born and raised and venured off into the college world.  It was here that I met Mr. A.  Our relationship progressed SO FAST that we had our picture taken together the very first time we ever met!

Wanna see?

At a football game with Lil Dillo! (Personal Photo.)

Ok, ok…our first meeting was rather uneventful (but I love that picture of us, by the way!)  My family had come up for Parents’ Weekend at the university, and we were at the football game.  Lil Dillo wanted to come sit with me on the grass where my sorority was sitting.  Mr. A was sitting right behind us for the duration of the game.  We spoke exactly once to each other–he asked if I had hand-painted the decoration on my sister’s cheek.  I told him it was one of those temporary tattoos I bought from the campus bookstore.  End conversation.

Unbeknownst to either of us, we’d run into each other multiple times that semester.  I was a member of the Christian sorority on campus; he was a member of the Christian frat.  Naturally, our groups would hold events and functions together, so I’d see him from time to time.  We never talked, really; but he was always just kind of “there” whenever I was.

It was one night at a college worship service, however, that things really started to kick off between us.

I don’t know WHAT his deal was–I was talking with some friends and he had the audacity to just walk up and involve himself in the conversation.  Everything I said, he would argue the exact opposite.  I said I didn’t care for John Mayer.  To him, John Mayer was God’s gift to music.  I mentioned I was in the School of Honors at the university.  He said he qualified for the School of Honors but opted out because it was a “waste of time.”  I swear, the guy was purposely saying things for the sole intent of getting under my skin.  Talk about annoying, right?  I made sure to mention him to my mom that night on the phone as that “jerky guy” who was “too cocky for his own good”  and was generally less than impressed with his obnoxious antics.  Shrugging off our first meeting, I went back to my dorm room that night and tried to get him out of my mind…but I just couldn’t.  Something about him just wouldn’t let me shake him and I mentally kicked myself for not telling him off when I had the chance.

The funny thing was–and to this day, I still don’t know why–I felt compelled to add him as my friend on Facebook.  Maybe I was secretly curious about his life (or maybe I wondered if he was currently single or attached to a lady friend?)  Whatever the case, the Facebook friending commenced.  Eventually, we struck up a wall conversation (oh, how I miss the Facebook wall) and the topic turned to favorite celebrity crushes–mine was Seth Rogen; his was Jennifer Coolidge (Stifler’s mom from American Pie, FYI.)  Our conversation ended as he supplied me with a phone number, claimed it belonged to Seth Rogen, and encouraged me to call it.

Clearly, it was not Seth Rogen’s number.

I didn’t call “Seth Rogen” that night, or any night for the next few weeks, for that matter.  But every time the mister and I managed to run into each other, he would remind me that “Seth Rogen” really wanted me to call him, and that “Seth Rogen” was waiting anxiously by his phone.  Finally, after a few weeks, something in me decided to call him, and I made my move.  Plans were made to watch “Without a Paddle” in my dorm room, and that night we shared our first kiss.  On February 27, 2009, we had our first “official” date, which consisted of going out to dinner and to a theater production at the college.  On March 1, 2009, we made our relationship “Facebook official.”

The rest, they say, is history.

Image

Our first “official” picture of us together. He gave me his hat (which I’m wearing in the photo) when I left for spring break. I think he wanted to make sure I wouldn’t forget about him! (Personal photo.)

When I think back on the progression of our relationship, I wouldn’t change a thing about it.  It was so “us” (and I mean that in the least cheesy way possible, I promise.)   It took only a couple of months for the mister to utter those three, magical words to me; it took a few more months for me to come around and say them back to him, but I didn’t want to say them until I was sure I meant it (I tend to put walls up and kind of guard myself, but Mr. A broke down those walls pretty quickly!)  I love this crazy guy with all my heart, and I can’t wait to spend the rest of our lives together.  He’s everything I’ve ever wanted in a partner, and he brings out the absolute best in me.  There’s so much I admire about him.  Our relationship is one built on good, strong morals and a deep amount of respect for each other.  I feel confident that our three years together have created a solid foundation for a marriage to thrive upon.  Sure, we’ll have our ups and downs–all couples do.  But I’m confident that the downs will make us stronger as a couple, and the ups will remind us of why we fell in love in the first place.  Mostly, I just can’t wait to make this adorably wonderful guy my husband.

How did you and your significant other meet?  Was it an easy progression into the relationship, or did you have an unconventional start?

Leave a Reply

