Why “Trendy” is Sometimes Okay.

I’m not normally one of those gals who jumps on board whenever a new trend peaks over the horizon.  I tend to stick with what I like and what I know, regardless of what’s “in” at the moment.  For example, I couldn’t tell you the names of 90% of today’s music artists or their top songs; however, ask me about any song or artist from the 60’s or 70’s and I’d be able to rattle on about them for days.  I don’t own a smart phone or iPhone (or any Apple product, for that matter), my favorite television shows are old sitcom reruns, and I love the classic, feminine clothing silhouettes of days gone by.  Honestly, sometimes I feel like I was born in the wrong decade (hello, 1950s!)

However, when it comes to what’s currently popular in the wedding industry, there are a few things I don’t mind being “on trend” about.  In fact, there’s one decorative item in particular that I can’t seem to shake from my mind and seems to work fantastically with the romantic garden vision I’ve dreamed up for our wedding day:  mason jars!

This picture totally forced me to fall in love with mason jars and I knew I had to do something like this at my own reception.  So much drama, romance, and visual interest with no flower centerpieces!  What a great visual impact with minimal hit to the budget!

So, although I’m not normally drawn to trendy and popular concepts, I’m totally okay with this one (along with a few other wedding trends I’m jumping on the bandwagon for, which I’ll share later!)  The ladies at my childhood church are collecting jars for me, and I’ve been eating more spaghetti than usual to get my hands on a bunch of pasta sauce jars.  I’ll need about 300 of these babies by March in order to get the effect I’m looking for, but I think its doable.  And I feel like I’m doing the earth a favor by recycling all of these jars for a huge chunk of my decor!  I don’t know what in the world I’m gonna do with them all after the wedding’s over, but I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.  Perhaps the recycling center will get a huge glass deposit, or maybe I’ll offer them up for another bride who’s jumping on the mason jar trend.

What current wedding trends are you loving?  Which could you do without?

2 thoughts on “Why “Trendy” is Sometimes Okay.

Leave a Reply

