Y’all Ready for This?

So, it’s time to get serious about losing weight, not just for the wedding but for life in general.  (I’m kind of embarassed to admit I’ve probably gained a hefty 50 pounds since Mr. A and I started dating.  What can I say?  Mr. A goes “you’re beautiful, here’s another cookie” and its hard to resist temptation sometimes!)  I’m SO SERIOUS about getting back in shape that I’ve implemented a few strategies to help me reach my weight-loss goals, and I thought I’d share them with you.

Weight-loss strategy #1:  Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred

With 3 difficulty levels of 20 minute workouts, Jillian Michaels knows EXACTLY how to kick my ass.  As much as I HATE HER for it, I know good things will come from this.  As sore as my body gets after this, its bound  to get me into shape, right?

Weight-loss strategy #2:  Sparkpeople.com

This website is amazing!  You can get customizable meal plans with an in-depth calorie/fat/sodium counter, a place to track your weight loss progress, and a place to keep track of your workouts.  The website has an awesome online community of support groups for various age groups, etc. and the trackers are incredibly easy to use.  This website takes all of the guesswork out of meal planning and gives you a lot of variety as far as types of food are concerned.   Did I mention its all completely free????

Weight loss strategy #3:  Using a Pedometer!

I am far too lethargic than I should be for a person my age.  I’m hoping by implementing the 10,000 steps a day plan I can become more aware of how much (or how little) I move during the course of a day.  Walking to work in the morning instead of driving, taking the stairs, and going for leisurely walks around campus with the future hubs will surely get me on the right track as far as moving is concerned.

Weight loss strategy #4:  Motivational Visual Aid

With a goal of 40 pounds to lose by my wedding day, I’m bound to get overwhelmed from time to time.  BUT, I’m hoping that this visual representation of the pounds I’ve lost and the pounds I have left will motivate me to stick with it.  I stumbled across this idea on Pinterest and thought it was a good one to try, and with glass and decorative marbles on sale at 50% off at Hobby Lobby, how could I go wrong???

Weight loss strategy #5:  A Weight loss Buddy!

The future hubs is a natural choice.  We can hold each other accountable, eat healthy together, and motivate each other to keep at it.   Getting healthy with this sweet guy is bound to make our relationship stronger and make us healthier, more energetic people.

So, there we go!  I’m hoping that by implementing these strategies I can lose the weight I need to become a healthier me (not to mention getting my body in shape for a super awesome wedding dress!)

Let’s get healthy, people!  Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Y’all Ready for This?

  1. Good luck! I have the 30-day shred DVD and have done it twice. I just can’t get into it… And I also have a sparkpeople.com account, but am hardly ever on there (veggie_rachel). Urgh! I hope you have better success than I have so far!

    • It definitely takes some will power to stick with the 30-Day Shred, and some weeks are easier than others. Last week I was really good about it–this week, not so much. 😦 It’s definitely hard to create new habits when you’re so used to doing old ones!

Leave a Reply

